A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Nations should steer away from highly decentralized education systems and curriculum as it can result in inconsistent standards of education and inequality between students from wealthy neighborhoods and students from economically disadvantaged neighborhoods. These challenges are then compounded when most college entry admissions are dictated by nation-wide, standardized tests.

One of the primary reasons why a nation should have a standard curriculum, let alone a centralized education system, is equitable funding for schools. When nations, such as the United States, allow resources - in this case district income taxes - to dictate the level and rigor of a curriculum, then it results in significant inequality and disproportionate levels of education in the student population. Wealthy neighborhoods usually have the resources to invest in more rigorous and college-prep curriculums, whereas neighborhoods with socio-economic challenges are unable to afford rigorous programs - not because they cannot design them, but because they cannot afford teachers who can implement them. Better curriculums require better teachers and higher pay.

Decentralized curriculum systems pose a barrier to college entry because of student preparation, but also because it is inconsistent with national, college admission requirements. In the United States, although K-12 education is decentralized, the college admission process is centralized. This inconsistency usually results in students form wealthy schools being better prepared for the SAT/ACT, or other standardized tests used for college admissions.

There are benefits to a decentralized education system and curriculum as it can serve as a check to political influence. However, particularly in the United States, that is a result of a larger issue not necessarily linked to education, and the rigor or standard of a curriculum should not have to adapt to that. In the end, it is students from all backgrounds, who gain to lose from this inequality.