A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college

A curriculum is an essential part of our nation that decides the academic growth of its students'. In today's society, most of the schools employ a common curriculum for its students to maintain an unbiased education system and to provide all the students with equal opportunities further. However, this can be disadvantageous to the development of an individual who needs to pursue a completely different career path. Hence, I believe that a nation must not stick to a fixed curriculum rather must be flexible enough for its students to choose as per their interest. The following paragraphs explain how employing this will be more advantageous in modeling the career of the student.

Although basic knowledge about all the fields is mandatory for a student to understand the basics, a school must also offer diverse fields for the students to pursue so that they are made familiar to the plethora of options available for them to choose between. By limiting the number of subjects offered, a school makes its students follow a definite career path even though unintentionally. For example, in India, the curriculum offered mainly includes English, a native language, Mathematics and Science with a lot of emphasis on the latter two. This, in some way or the other, restricts the students' idea about choosing a career and limits it to only fewer options at the end such as Engineering and Medical. Though there are various other options available, the students are more inclined to pursue the common fields due to their affiliation with the related subjects already.

Providing them with various options in schools itself can help them decide where their interests lie in. It is unjust for a student to take up a career option just on the basis of the few subjects he has been learning throughout the school. The curriculum must also include subjects that focus on entrepreneurship, sports, arts, etc. so that students must have sufficient time to figure out what must they pursue as a career. For example, students who have an inclination to entrepreneurship need not engage their 10 years of school life learning something which might not be required up to that level. rather, if subjects similar to those are already included in the school curriculum, a stronger foundation for the subject is laid upon which the college can help build the student's interest. Mere guessing about their interest always keeps them vacillated about their decision upon choosing something as a career path.

Most of the colleges need their students to be already familiar with a subject and continue their teaching process upon it. For a student pursuing a field without any background, this can be a hindrance and causes the student to drop his career path. This can be completely eradicated if sufficient time and clearer pictures about a particular field are already made available in the rudimentary stages of learning and development. This will help them to be certain in their choice and will not cause the learning curve to stoop down.

Hence, the schools must employ the basic curriculum subjects along with the various options which can have a career possibility. This helps the student be sure about his passionate goal and in turn, helps in the development of our nation