A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I slightly disagree with the recommendation. Under some kinds of cicurstances, national curriculum might be advantageous. Yet, most of the time this is not the case.

National curriculum might be helpful when we have a diverse and well-thought team to design the curriculum. If there's this kind of team in government, they can, for example, design a curriculum that instruct students to respect and even take advantages of diversity. They can also inform students what is needed to know as a well-prepared citizen in civil society. And the curriculum can provide some fundamental training that is needed in all kinds of profession, like the subjects we take in GRE general test. With this kind of diverse and well-prepared team, we can make sure every kinds of minority are not suppressed or ignored in the curriculum, and we can also get what is truly needed universally in all kinds of position in society.

However, most of the time this kind of diverse and well-thought team is not available. In most nation, there are certain groups of people taking the dominant position in society. When designing this kind of national curriculum, most likely only the views from these dominant classes will be considered. For example, in a society dominated by male, the perspective and experience of female might be totally ignored. Under this kind of situation, the world-view shaped by this curriculum will be narrow. Holding this kind of world-view, students might not know how to care about or communicate with minority group, which

For example, in the nation I grown, there's no a strict national curriculum but a guideline that require all schools to follow. This guideline is mostly designed by those who have power in society, that is, well-educated and most likely heterosexual. The experience of gender minority is mostly ignored in this guideline. Some of my friends who happened to belong to gender or sexual orientation minority have some miserable experiences in school. They suffered from the ignorant or even harmful bahaviors from peers, which might partly result from the curriculum that didn't consider about minority.

To conclude, I believe in some almost utopian cases, national curriculum might be helpful for a society as a whole. However, most of the time this is not the case, due to the present power structure in society. Thus, considering how unlikely in probability that this kind of curriculum will be helpful, I disagree with the recommendation.