Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

I slightly disagree with the statement. Formal education provides frameworks for us to understand and absorbs knowledge. Most of time, the knowledge we gain through education is cumulated through thousands of years of knowledge discovery. Although these knowledge might not be the ultimate truths, they still serve as good tools enabling us to leave in this world.

The modern formal education is mostly indebted to the intellectual tradition from the Enlightenment and related historical movements, which highlighted the rational reasoning and empirical examination of knowledge. Under this kind of training, people will know how to reason and examine the existing belief. The diversity of thought from academic is what make education more valuable. We not only have the school of the Enlightenment, but also Anti-Enlightenment and Post-Modern, just to name a few.

Formal education will grant us the ability to think in specific frameworks, which mostly likely will deviate from what we see world habitually. For example, most of the people live in modern West tends to reason in individual term. That is, they tend to attribute the cause of event to independent individuals rather than context or environment. However, with the training from sociology, we can know how to reason things in context. Training from other disciplines such as anthropology and psychology also have the similar effect. Opening a new window to see through the world, formal education enable us to see and understand the world differently and set us free.

In some cases, formal education might restrain the mind of people. For example, in those country that government have the full control of education. The content of education is distorted to favor the government. In this scenario, formal education serves as the tool for government to enslave its people. However, even in this kind of extreme cases, in which government use education to restrain people, those well-educated might still deviant from what government want and even rebel. For example, in 1989, a group of students stood against China government and asking for democracy. These students were grown up in the education controlled by China government, however they still managed to get rid off the intellectual restraint and underscore the part which set them free.

To conclude, I disagree with the claim that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits. In most case, the knowledge and training we gain from formal education will open a different window.