A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement presented, regarding implementation of restrictive laws on students' curriculum stems from the age old debate of what is the best course of action for securing a student's future. The decision between imposing a strict syllabus and providing students with an abundance of options grows ever difficult, if not due to the exponential rate of advancements in technology and science then due to the widespread exploration into world history and art. Every nation wants what is best for its students and in turn its own development. however, before circumscribing the learning of students, it is important to ask if this would be the best course of action.

Throughout history there have been numerous instances of restrictions applied on students. In some cases it was the necessity of the time. For example, during the industrial revolution the demand for engineers skyrocketed which made teaching of the sciences mandatory. however, in today's day and age it might be prudent to leave the decision of their careers up to the students.

it is a well known saying that "if you ever judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its life thinking its an idiot". Arguing against the statement provided, I think that students should be given the freedom to pursue the careers of their choices and thus be able to avail teaching relevant to that field. Surely, there should be vigilant counseling and it could impose pressure on the government to arrange the courses, but the best way to grow would be allowing students to innovate and not be trained to become factory workers. it can also benefit them to explore all the available streams before deciding on their chosen path.

Arguments in favour of the statement could be made saying that the students don't yet know much about the world to make an informed decision and hence should not be allowed to make it. however, they would anyway have to make the decision once they enter college or start working. hence, I believe the habit of making ones own decisions from such a young age could prove an asset to them in the future.

An additional factor that should be considered is the emotional changes the students go through at a young age. history is witness that whenever young people are oppressed (as some could view the fixed curriculum) they rebel. thus, even though the decision is made with best intentions it could yield a negetive effect.