A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In a world were no two persons are the exact carbon copy of each other (even if they are identical twins, there is always one small thing that differentiates them), why should everyone be forced to push through the same national curriculum ubtil college. I strongly believe that every student is unique and this uniquness is something to be nourished and pampered. Thus students must undergo customised educational tracks tailored to fit their unique needs.

Let us consider the following anectode. On a beautiful summer day, somewhere deep inside the forest, all the animals were gathered and told hat they will be put through a series of tests and the one to win the most of them will be named the next king. The animal group included fishes, monkeys, elephants, cheetahs, etc and they were put through a series of swimming, climbing, running and strength tests. As we expect, the fish won swimming, but stood no chance in anything else, the fastest of them all, the Cheetah effortlessly won the running race but lost to monkey in climbing and similarly every animal which won something lost in something else. Ultimately at the end of the day there was no single winner. Why? Beacause every animal had its uniqueness, their specific skill set were they cannot be beat. And now replace animals with humans, that is exactly our story. Every student is unique and has a specific skill set and talent in which he reigns unbeatable. The education system to be fair and helpful, must design a curriculm tailored to meet these unique needs of each and every student.

As we know, there is no use training a fish to climb a tree for years even with the best tutors, because it was not designed to do so. And so are students, If a student is a born athelete with immense passion for the same, but is a little slow-witted in science, there is no use putting the student this student through gruelling science regime just because the unified national curriculum includes it. No matter how hard the education systems tries shove chemistry or physics down his throat, his heart will always lie in athletics. He might never make a nobel wtinning scientists but with a little push the student will definitely become a world renowned athlete. Thus the curriculum must be designed to fit the special needs of every student, because every student with their uniqueness is special.

But the above argument assumes that, the students have already firgured out their niche are, their specific skill set. Only in those cases, it is possible to build and design a curriculum to nurture their skills. If a students has not yet figured out what exactly is his innate skill and where exactly his heart lies, these types of children need to be exposed to a type of education where, they are introduced to an eclectic array of skills and fields. This might ultimately help the students to try various things and find their niche, once found they can shift to a curriculum built just to cater to this specific need.

A single common national curriculum tends to overlook these differences, thereby it is being unfair to the students. The only solution to this: “Every students needs to be put through a customized curriculum which is tailored to meet their specific needs”. This way we will embrace the student’s uniqueness and bolster it’s growth. Unique is not weird it is beautiful.