A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

George W. Bush's adminstration implemented the "No Child Left Behind Act" in the 2000s with the high goals of bringing a standardized quality education to all children in America. In a speech aired on television, he said that he would make sure that all schools nationwide would have set goals to achieve, and that standardized tests would measure the progress of each school. "How can we know how well a school is doing if we don't have a way of measuring it?" he asked reporters. The "No Child Left Behind Act" and many other attempts at a national standardized curriculum have the goals of bringing an equal education for all, an education that can be measured and standardized to improve problem areas. However, though being able to quantatively measure a school's performance is important, imposing a national curriculum on all students is ultimately prone to a disharmonious education for the individual student.

Students study in schools that are engrained in a community. A student living in New York is surrounded by city lights, pollution, and international cultures, while a student living in rural Texas has wheatfields and long stretches of empty road as neighbors. The students living in these different areas have to deal with different issues. The student from New York might have to learn more about maintaining an environmentally healthy planet by reducing pollution and trash, while the student from Texas might have to focus more on weather patterns that affect their daily lives. A national curriculum, however, does not take into account the distinct necessities of the student's surroundings. In pursuing the standards of a national curriculum, teachers have less time to spend on areas that are important for children of a particular area.

Teachers must have this kind of leniency in order to bring tailor-made lessons that match their students' needs. In certain regions of the country, teachers have their every minute planned so that every teacher will teach a particular concept in a particular way at the same time. Not only does this impede teachers of their creativity, this also creates an environment where teachers acts as cogs in a machinated system where they have little say on the direction of their classes. Perhaps a certain class has trouble with adding, more so than other clases, and a teacher can see that this class will need an extra two weeks for the subject. Looking at the course schedule, however, he might forgo this extra time because he has to keep up with the curriculum.

Teachers cannot create tailor-made education experiences for their students when they have twenty to thirty students in their classrooms. It is possibly true that students can receive individualized education only in one-on-one or small class settings. However, when a teacher no longer follows a lesson plan made for the twenty to thirty students she knows, and instead must follow a lesson plan tailored for a generic student averaged from the many millions of students across the country, she loses much of her effectiveness as a teacher.