A nation should require all schools to have the same national curriculum before students enter college.

Creating standards are not always the best solution, but when it comes to keeping thousands of students in check, it is necessary. A nation that implements a national curriculum all students must follow will assert a baseline of knowledge all students should know. This is greatly beneficial for the following reasons.

Moving to different schools in different states, or even within the same state, can have students falling through the cracks if the curriculums between the schools are different. This creates negative consequences for the student will fall behind and may feel embarrassed to seek extra help. This can lead to a continuous struggle in school as the student progresses onto the next grade. Not only will the student be behind, but falling behind creates negative emotional scars. The student will associate the embarrassment, frustration, and confusion to education and will therefore loathe school. With a national curriculum in place, since all schools within the nation are going at the same pace and learning the same material, a child moving to a different school will not cause the child to miss any vital material or be confused.

Class time is important, but what is more important is how that time is used. If most of the time in class is spent on making sure those who fall behind are keeping up and in check, or spent attempting to get every student on the same baseline, there will be less time spent on learning actual material. Not only will there be less time on learning, but less time practicing and applying the knowledge which is vital. Practicing and applying knowledge helps to strengthen the connections in the brain to then be stored into long term memory.

Lastly, the students who decide to enter college would all have a fair and equal chance. This is due to the fact that since they all studied the same material in the same curriculum, no one student would have had a greater advantage over another. This allows for each student to have an equal amount of opportunity to get into a higher education institution, graduate, and make a career out of their passions.

The opposing side may argue that creating this national curriculum will not work on every child. That each child is unique and so education should be personalized since the learning pace may be different case by case. Although this is true, schools should be a place for growth and learning. There are resources outside of the school such as a homework help club, online math games, and tutors to help target specific subjects and individualize the learning. This will allow for more class time focused on gaining new knowledge and putting them into practice.

In summary, a nation should make it a requirement for all students to undergo the same national curriculum until they enter college or graduate from high school. It will ensure of a baseline of knowledge all students hold; prevent students from falling through the cracks if they move; allow for more class time to be spent on learning new material and putting them into practice; and create an even playing field for those who decide to apply for college.