Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities should implement a system in which students take courses related to their field(s) of interest for the following reasons.

Many students in America take a gap year from high school to work to be able to attend a university. Even so, they find themselves in debt, taking out loans if government aid is not sufficient. In todays day and age, it is a well-known fact that attending college is expensive. The amount of debt and loans students have to pay back is outrageous and even getting media coverage. Students would spend the following months, even years, post graduation to pay back their loans and accumulated interest. It is an inefficient and even deadly cycle, which does not come as a surprise to anyone. This is due to the fact that, students have to go to university, to get a degree, to get work, to get money, to then pay back their student loans. When will their lives actually begin debt free? If universities created a policy in which the only requirement was for students to complete courses for their major or field of interest, that would be 2 years worth of tuition and fees saved.

Most universities have 4 year programs, and if students want to get a higher education, that would be an additional 2-4 years of schooling. Within the 4 years spent at a university institution, the first 2 years are mainly dedicated to completing general education requirements. This uneccessary delay leads to students working later in life. They not only start working in their mid to late twenties, but it is also a waste of time taking classes to learn materials they will never need in their field of work. The 2 extra years spent taking useless classes could be spent on gaining experience through work, volunteering, or an internship, and for it to be a stepping stone into their future careers.

The opposing side may make the argument that without general education requirements, no one would willingly take general education courses. If students are required to take extra courses, this may lead to new discoveries and interests. This is simply not true. Students do not need to be forced to take courses they may find interest in because they will take the course willingly if it peaks their interest. They are adults and can make decisions for themselves without being told by authority.

It is uneccessary to require students to stay an extra 2 years solely for general education requirement courses that do not pertain to their field(s) of interest or their major.