A nation should require its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum and pedagogy have been discussed and debated at the federal, state and local level for decades. Additionally, there has been an interesting interplay between the interlocutors in the education industry who readily debate the merits and perils of a national, standardized curriculum. It warrants heavy skepticism if a nation requires all its students to study the same curriculum during their K-12 years. Such a policy can have harmful effects, and in particular, there are two reasons why this could be detrimental.

First, the likely outcome of requiring students to undergo a homogenous curriculum is that students will have similar reasoning, critical thinking and communication skills. One of the stated goals of a college is to bring people together from different backgrounds, perspective and beliefs to exchange ideas and contribute to a healthy discourse. If a nation produces students who all think alike and refuse to stray from the standardized norm, it deprives its institutions of higher learning with this incumbent diversity and free flowing dialogue. Further, another stated goal of higher education is allowing its students to become comfortable with uncomfort. K-12 students with a shared, universal curriculum are likely to agree with each other and easily reach consensus on the day's toughest issues. This would also likely lead to the reinforcement of the student's opinions which leads to a culture of entrenching one's self in a myopic bubble.

Second, shouldn't states have a claim some kind of seat at the table of this discussion? The United States Constitution gives states plenty of rights to execute its laws and policies as they seem fit. This system of federalism has preserved for decades and enforcing a national curriculum, without input from the states, is antithetical to our very American foundation. Bestowing a non-negotiable national curriculum on a state could have deleterious effects on its workforce. For example, statistics indicate only 48% of students pursue college at the end of their high school years. As such, that assumes the majority of students highest level of education is a high school diploma. For this example, let's take a GED-earning student from a rural state like Wyoming. A federally imposed curriculum could emphasize skills in tech and STEM while neglecting skills needed to pursue agrarian careers. This student could then be a square peg in a round hole and lacking the needed skills and education for his local economy.

On the contrary, encouraging a standardized curriculum should allow for each student to arrive at college on a level playing field. This thinking is idealistic. Though they may have the same curriculum, that doesn't mean they'll have the same understanding and analytical abilities. It is incumbent on any democracy to embrace its intellectual capacity and diversity by enabling its education industry to provide all kinds of offerings. Denying innovative pedagogy is characteristic of some of the world's worst dictatorship where dissent, discussion and democracy are denied.