Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Make sure you consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

For several years and decades people have been exploiting our environment not just for economic purposes, they have also been exploiting nature for lucrative and selfish reasons. Nations passing a law in order to preserve the existing wilderness can be a step towards protecting the ecosystem as well as saving our planet for the future generations. Our planet does not exclusively belong to human beings, we are a part of an ecosystem and we share the planet earth with all the species of plants, trees, animals and insects. Although economic gain is good for the Nation, protecting our environment is the utmost important need of the hour.

It is said that about 99.9% of the species to ever exist on planet Earth are extinct and in the recent past, humans have been the reason for the extinction and endangerment of species from the ecosystem. With the advent of technology, the carbon footprint has increased leading to global warming. This in turn affects the habitat of animals across the planet which gives rise to the endangerment of many species. Human activities have also lead to the extinction of animals and plants. Ever since hunting and poaching have become illegal, the rates of extinction have reduced remarkably. During the pre-colonial and colonial periods of the British Government in India, a vast number of White Bengal Tigers were killed and their skins and teeth were sold for money. This has lead to the endangerment of the White Bengal Tigers in India. This is proof that laws help in preserving our environment.

Every single species play a pivotal role in our environment from ants to Elephants and from a rose plant to a banyan tree. Removing one from the ecosystem disrupts the cycle and hence becomes detrimental to our Planet Earth. The wilderness also help in producing rain and they produce oxygen which are vital for survival of all species including human beings. With the help of rains, the crop produce is more hence indirectly leading to economic growth.

These laws are long overdue and it is high time nations take such steps towards protecting our Environment. Not only would we be benefitted from these laws, our future generations and all the species found on planet Earth would be benefitted from them. Our ancestors might have left this planet in a bad condition for us, but we shouldn't leave a planet that is dying for our kids. Nature is the biggest wealth that we can leave for the next generation.