'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station recommends the television station to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. People have raised complaints with the coverage of weather and local news. However, before evaluating the recommendation proposed by the business manager, a questions are to be answered.

By how much time did the channel reduce the slot for weather and local news? Did they reduce from 2 hours to one hour or 2 hours to 30 minutes? Perhaps they reduced the time slot by just 15 minutes and decided to give extra time to the national news. Since there is no substantial evidence to state the time by which the weather and local news were reduced, the argument is significantly weakened. The manager says "most of the complaints" and does not give us a statistical data to corroborate it. This weakens the argument too.

Secondly, the manager/author also implores that the reason for the withdrawal of advertisers of local businesses were due to the fact that the channel had increased the slot of national news and decreased the slot of local and weather news. Did the local businesses say that while they withdrew? Did they assure the manager that they'll advertise again once they restore the time devoted to weather and local news? Perhaps the local businesses decided to cancel their advertisements because it is a late-night news program and the viewers are less anyway. It also probable that they do not want to advertise at all or they received a better offer somewhere else. If either of these scenarios are true, the original argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, stated as of now is faulty and it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions. If the above stated questions are answered and if the author/manager is able to provide evidence to support his claim(preferably in a systematic study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of restoring the time dedicated to weather and local news to its former level.