Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Preserving nature is certainly the toughest thing that most Nations are dealing with. With an exponential increase in number of species getting listed as endangered in recent times, it is already a high time that government should pass laws to protect and preserve nature and wildlife. But, economic gains and preserving nature doesn’t go well simultaneously.

Economic gains often comes with a huge cost of sacrificing nature. In a country like India, with grossing increase in population and unemployment, it is important for the government to focus on the economic gains. Many environmental activists are fighting against the establishment of such industries as they are polluting the environment around it. This not only brings potential harm to animals but also to human beings.

Railways and Highways are often built for economic purposes and the welfare of the people. But these projects are the main reason for deforestations. India is said to have the largest railway connections. Animals are often hit by the trains that crosses these forests. Land is not the only place where animals face threats, there are so many marine animals like “Olive Ridley turtles” added to the endangered species list that are often poached for their medicinal and aesthetic values.

While nature and wildlife should be protected, it is important for a nation to look at the economic gain and sustainability of local residents. One such incident was the “Sterlite Protest” happened in the Tamil Nadu - an Indian state. Where so many activists stood against the government and the Sterlite industry (which was primarily involved in copper manufacturing and smelting) for polluting the river and air around Tuticorin town. This protest got international attention and the company was finally shut down. While this can be huge victory for most environmentalists, India has lost an Industry that was producing about 70% of the copper in India.

As the world is not only for humans and since government can be the only organization to have direct authority to preserve wildlife and economy, it is very important to maintain a fair balance between both preserving Wildlife and improving economy.