"No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and

experience to that field of study."

A building cannot be constructed by just bricks, rather requires amalgam including cement and other types of soil mixture. Here, prompt suggests that a field requires external knowledge including its existing facts for betterment and new advancements. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the above-mentioned statement for following three reasons.

To begin with, various civilisations have been discovered collectively by people from different fields interpreting about past using components of the civilisation found. For example, historians were more involved to discover how history could have been, what could have happened due to which the civilisation came to an end. They could be concerned of knowing about royal families, their disputes and wars that could have occurred at that time. On the other hand, geographical interpretations are drawn by geographists. They could be more concerned about the availability of various essential things at that time required for human survival such as water, food, etc and how the people were settled and consumed such resources. Anthropologists may be more concerned about the instruments/tools used during war and forensic scientists may be involved in discovering the exact time when this civilisation exist. Therefore, even discovery of a single civilisation requires input from diverse fields to reach to a conclusion. The above stated example clearly indicates that a field of study requires external knowledge to advance and draw a conclusion.

From history till today, everywhere people having expertise in different fields work together to establish some work or to bring new insights into existence. For example, to develop a satellite which are in numerous numbers in the space these days and through which we all are connected also requires input from diverse fields, that is, from physicist to mathematicians to astrologers. A physicists may plan where a satellite could be launched, energy required to cross earth’s orbit and for staying outside the earth’s orbit. Contrary to this, a computer expert will look for signalling maintenance as if how we can track satellite and its functioning. A mathematician will work with calculations required in order to construct the structure of satellite. And lastly an astrologer can actually predict when should satellite be launched. Therefore, our knowledge and religious beliefs are equally required to reach to a conclusion concerning a launch of satellite. That is, vast variety of knowledge can help physicists to bring a new discovery which otherwise could take more time, therefore more expenditure of human resources. Hence, example clearly demonstrates that many ideas and expertise from various field brings glory to the existing knowledge.

Further, scientists have always debated that biology is a different field of study and can never be merged with subjects like physics and computer languages. But with the advancements, various scientists have developed computer tools to solve difficult problems which otherwise could have taken years to humas to reach to a conclusion. For example, bioinformatics is an emerging field of study these days, where biologists and computer experts are working together to interpret and maintain databases in a way to help easy interpretation of biological content. From DNA sequences to protein sequence to protein structure, everything can be interpreted using computational tools. The day is not far when a human will be diagnosed based on genetic composition using these computational tools. A DNA sample will reveal the mutations and disease to which a person may be prone to in order to treat them on the concept of personalised medicine. This not only requires biologists who can actually interpret pathobiology of the disease but people from diverse fields to design instruments, interpret instrumentation function and various engineers to establish the technology. Hence, above stated illustration clearly indicates that even our treatment requires interdisciplinary functioning.

In my views, interdisciplinary functioning brings glory to the filed existing with new advancements and new establishments. One has to always be positive to accept knowledge from outsiders, should work on the views to establish better techniques that could benefit humans. Only then, a field of study will advance when outsiders posit their views and knowledge.