"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose

views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

Do we actually learn from facts presented or described in literature or from when these facts are challenged? The prompt suggests that people having similar thoughts learn more from each other than when their thoughts are contradictory. In my opinion, I moderately disagree from the suggestion and argue that contradictory suggests or debates often plays important roles and advances learning for following two reasons.

Admittingly, contradictory views as in debates or competitions, can impede learning by discouraging the person if something went wrong. But, at the same time considering the contradictory views, learning and improving upon oneself can advance thinking processes. This can also lead to new establishments. For example, initially earth was considered to be stable around which various planets and the sun was thought to revolve. But with upcoming techniques, scientists debated and questioned the fact for earth to be stable. With various validations, later on it was proved that earth revolves around sun with other planets and the sun is a star which is stable. This became apparent only when older facts were questioned and based on those new facts were searched and proven. Although, major scientists were in favour of former example, but the person concerned for later example must have worked hard to oppose those contradictory views. The above example illustrates that, contradiction can discourage for some time but brings learning as a long-term perspective.

Further, economic policies are made based on various arguments and solutions to various problems on a single table. In UN assemblies, the agenda is decided based on recent progresses. Even draft is often made on a single table to reach to a conclusion for a global issue. Interestingly, various treaties such as for global warming reduction was signed among various countries to replenish or further stop the deterioration of ozone layer by cumulative agreement. The major step was to reduce emission of Chlorofluorocarbons and look for safe or green solutions. This step could have many contradictory views but with various discussions and meetings the issue was resolved and treaty was signed. Hence, sitting together with people having contradictory views often adds something to our ever-increasing knowledge.

On the other hand, this can sometimes discourage and impede learning. One can look no farther than a television. Usually on media channels, politicians are found fighting with each other without bothering to listen to the views of another person. Often this could lead to hourly fights with no conclusion. In such cases, discouragement occurs and no learning could be inculcated in people who have been debating or in the views as well. Rather, such types of fights can have negative impact on the society as a whole. Therefore, debates with good speakers as well as good listeners do bring healthy conclusions but opposite to that could be hazardous.

In my views, we do learn from people who have contradictory views to ours in a positive manner by discussing each one’s plot one by one. But on the other hand, continuous fighting over each other’s plot can impede learning. One should be positive towards other’s choices and interpretations as well. Only then as a perspective of future, one can learn more and can solve to the issues surrounding with open eyes besides keeping eyes closed to the contradictory views.