"One can best understand the most important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities."

Most of the people are of the opinion that in order to comprehend the crucial traits of a community, it is essential for an individual to survey the trends in its important metropolis. On the other hand, some believe that the in-depth knowledge of culture can be obtained only by scrutinizing the pastoral areas. I agree with the author’s opinion to a great extent. My inclination towards the same is enhanced in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the foremost reason why author’s viewpoint convinces me is that all the technological advancements that happen in a country first are implemented in the major cities and from there they reach the rural areas. For instance, the metro trains are operational only in the major cities of India such as Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata to name a few. Moreover, there are better job opportunities for the people in the cities as compared to the country side. Most of the IT companies, chemical industries, etc. are developed in the urban areas only and hence industrial culture of a society can be understood efficiently by studying them. An apt example of this is the city of Bangalore in India which is known as the technical hub of the country because of the large number of software companies developed in the city.

The secondary reason why I agree with the author on his stand is that the trade and commerce of a nation flourishes best in a megacity. The entrepreneurs of any big company decide their plan of action keeping in mind the preferences of the people and the latest fashion trends in the city. Most of the foreign exchange of goods between two nations also happens through their important cities only. Another reason is that the schools and universities are also developed only in the prominent cities of a country. So, the students who aspire to have a bright future often migrate to cities in order to get a quality education. Hence the literacy rate of a country could be evaluated efficiently by studying the success rate of these educational institutes.

On the other hand, in order to gain knowledge about the cultural heritage of a country it is essential for an individual to visit the country side. All the varied aspects of a civilization such as literature, traditions, rituals, and language have their roots established in the rural areas of the nation. A perfect illustration of this is the festival of Navratri celebrated in Gujarat with the folk dance form of Garba which originated in the villages of Gujarat. In order to obtain a better understanding of all these things, it is essential to interact with the native people living in this areas. Furthermore, in the developing countries like India where majority of population resides in the villages, a significant proportion of revenue of the country is generated from various agricultural and small-scale industries such as dairy, poultry, etc. and hence complete information about growth and development of the nation cannot be obtained by excluding them.

Thus, to draw a conclusion, I would like to say that most of the data regarding the way of living of a particular group of people of a nation can be obtained by evaluating its prime cities. Nevertheless, one should also study the small towns and villages in order to know about the history of the society.