In order for any work of art for example a film a novel a poem or a song to have merit it must be understandable to most people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reaso

Art - the word in itself is strongly subjective, and is of various forms. It is a combination of films, novels, songs, poems, painting or dancing. Among these there might be arts contributed by the hardwork, resilience and determination of a single person or multiple people might be involved. Thus, putting the merit solely on the number of people who understood the art is unfair.

I would support my opinion by presenting a few examples. Let's say for an instance that there is a film produced on the struggles of Africans dating a few decades back. There might be a large pool of people who might not feel connected to the movie as times have changed. They might feel it is too irrelavant or out of context as we don't see those things happening now. Not only this, people of Africa themselves might not be able to connect with it completely. That being said, it doesn't necessarily make the movie a dull one. It might have great content, actors, sounds and effects and still fail to impress people.

In today's fast paced world, every individual have personalised choices. Thus, a movie made on Jane Austen's book might not do so well as people might feel it is too slow. There might be a feeling among larger section of the audience that, there is no spark in their chemistry or would be unable to comprehend how people might fall in love that way. Though the writer in her time have been renowned world wide. Classic novel readers of today's times also appreciate and draw inspiration from her books. She has set global standards for classic writers around the world even today.

Though I agree that people might feel other way about this topic. There might be a larger pool of people believing that if the art isn't comprehensible how will we understand the purpose behind it. If purpose of the art is unknown, it won't be possible for the audience to express their opinion. This is a common opinion that even if the art is a master piece and it is abstruce it won't be doing well. Though going back in time tells us masterpiece arts have always found their way to the top, it might have taken several years or maybe was recognised after the death of the artist. But a masterpiece has always stood up in the race of time. As time is the best indicator for the validity of any art.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that there are several factors which needs to be considered for deciding the merit of the art and not just how much it is understandable to the audience.