In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

College should be the place in which every student gets the opportunity to pursue their preferred academic path. There is no need for some courses to be mandatory. However, the prompt recommends that some kind of imaginative literature should be required for all courses. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that there should be complete freedom in the choice of university courses for the following two reasons.

First of all, going into university is regarded as one of the biggest steps into the actual world, and so courses preferences should display what best suits you so that one can express her or his full potential into professional life. If colleges had the ability to force students attending a course they are not interested in, universities would undoubtedly lose their primary goal: provide unrestricted access to knowledge. For example, take a STEM student who gets obliged to attend a mythology course; how is this a good idea? What mythology could possibly bring to a person that is into, for instance, robotics and computer science? The more we grow, the more the quote “time is money” acquires a powerful meaning, especially in college days when a student should put the maximum amount of effort in what she or he likes, while leaving aside other branch of knowledge.

Conversely, I do concede that there are some courses that university is allowed to suggest to students, but they never should be compulsory unless there is a strong reason for it. In Italy, where I live, in colleges all along the boot the study of English language is mandatory for all courses. In my opinion there are many courses that deserve to be suggested like basic math, finance, public speaking, and so on; they are useful skills that may get in handy during everyday life. Poetry and novels, though very important for scholars, come short in daily life convenience; with this I’m not saying that are detrimental or useless subjects, but nowadays we should focus more on practicality and less on speculative matters.

In conclusion, the issue is very complex and there is no easy answer, nevertheless freedom for students in college is fundamental as it allows them to live college experience to its best. Particularly, imaginative literature courses need to be left only to those who want to delve into these subjects, and not be expect students to be excited from the idea of wasting their precious time.