In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature.

The statement posits that college students would become well-rounded individuals should they take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature. Although this sounds true from a surface level, I strongly disagree to the statement.

Firstly, the path to being a well-rounded individual isn’t only about reading books in literature. To become well-rounded means to have an idea of topics in every facet of life. This involves having an idea in history, finance and business, societal issues among others. For example, a student who studies any of these courses as their majors or primary programs is not well-rounded individuals than students who don’t study this. There is no proof of well-roundedness due to a student studying a program different than another. We can’t say because I studied literature in school, I am well-rounded that my friend who studied finance. That would be an absurd thought to have.

Secondly, some situations require hands-on experience to make one well-rounded. It is impossible to become well-rounded in knowing how to change a flat tire or cooking by reading the procedure from a book. For whatever knowledge the student will gain from reading, the experience can’t be compared to having a practical experience of the situation. There are myriads of instances that requires that one has practical experiences. This cannot be obtained from reading literature books.

To conclude, although it is agreed that reading makes one well-rounded, it isn’t enough to become well rounded from reading only books in imaginative literature. Students must read from a wide range of topics to consider themselves well-rounded. In addition to that, some topics or discourses require students to have practical experience for them to claim they are well-rounded.