Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Originality is key to the success in each and every field of career. But the definition of originality may vary person to person, it is nothing but creating new, interesting and innovative things. So it does not matter if the new ideas are coming from taking the inspiration from old ideas or recreating old ideas with new vision or without taking any help from any other sources as long as there is something new or something creative. So the statement here saying that originality is not always thinking about something never thought before, but also putting old ideas together in new ways is the one that I agree with.

Some of the example supporting this is fashion industry. Most of the fashion designers today are encouraged by old fashion creating new looks using old one. New style of clothing is trending in market if fusion style which is again inspired by old fashion mixing old style with new style when put together to create whole new style of clothing. This is another example of creating something original inspired by old ideas.

Another example of putting old things in new ways is Quantum Physics and science. Most of the theories in quantum physic are inspired by challenging the old proven theories which some time leads to whole new concept proving another theory or creating a new theory. There are also some inventions which are not based on old ideas but the things was never done before. One of the example is steam engine. When steam engine was invented no one could have thought that steam can be used in a machine which can be then used to travel from one place to another.

Music industry is another example of such thing. In today’s date most of the musicians are recreating the old songs with addition of new lyrics and new advancing the music with new instruments. This is another way of putting old traditional music in front of people so that new generation will have the knowledge the old songs in a whole new way.

So in short, one cannot judge originality if it is inspired by old thing or recreating the old fashion or even if by challenging the old facts. There is large difference in copying thing and inspired by old thing. So as long as no one is copying anything everything is original, creative and innovative in its own way.