Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

The base of the pyramid supports all the structure above it, similarly some unique idea is required to support other ideas. We cannot say that originality is just putting old ideas together. There is not a single definition of originality that can encompass all the meanings of it. In a nutshell, it is something new, useful, and interesting and is a basis for many other inventions. It can be inventing new things or just putting old ideas together in a novel way. I will provide some examples and will shed more light on this topic in the passage below.

In my opinion, originality also means unwrapping some mystery and coming up with unique thoughts. Everyone knows about satellites and how they are helping to revolutionize the technological world, society, and humankind around us. Rocket propulsion is the main part of Satellites launching procedure and is not an merely an amalgam of some ideas put together in some fashionable form. It is something that was never thought before and is something new and innovative. Hence, we can say that new ideas are required to come up with other inventions in the future and are true originality. Just just putting old ideas together is not the only definition of an Originality.

Furthermore, we can see example of Facebook and other social networks. These correctly fit into the definition of originality mentioned in the statement as they just came with the old idea of social networks differently. But, there was existing original idea of social network that was developed by AOL which helped in development of these new websites. As, it is evident that novel ideas are required for development of other ideas and originality also means thinking completely new things.

There are other places where humankind came up with new things by putting old ideas together, but these ideas were not merely developed by putting some stuff together in a cutting edge way. These were real, path-breaking ideas which helped in the development of other inventions. Everyone knows about internet, we use it daily more than anything else. It was invented by DARPA as ARPNET for military purpose. Now we are using it for totally different purpose. As we can again see, internet was developed by putting old idea came up by DARPA, but DARPA's idea is the base and was entirely novel and is a true original stuff.

It is apparent by now that originality means putting some old ideas together in new way and also coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition of Originality mentioned in the statement give in the question.