“People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they

refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In

writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it

may be false.

Power by definition is the ability to perform a task or getting things done, it is also a form of authority. Some would argue that exercising power would make people respect you and point to cases of Adolf Hitler during the Nazi’s war or the powerful HuXian of the Han empire however this people were not respected but feared, some would argue that refraining from exercising their power make people respect them and point to cases of Nelson Mandela in South Africa who used peace and his reforms were mostly on reconciliation instead of using his power to plot revenge against his former oppressors.

Those who argue that powerful people exercising their power could state the fact no German leader was as respected as Adolf Hitler who decided to bend the entire world to his knees by the use of his advanced machines and weapons, however was he really respected? Was the obedience of his subordinates a true form of respect or fear? Of course not, they had no choice, not following his order was tantamount to being killed and even though he was able to spread his name throughout the world as a powerful leader, he was not respected but seen as a tyrant who needed to be suppressed or stopped.

Now consider this; Nelson Mandela became the First African president of South Africa and had the power of the presidency to do whatever he liked and he was even voted because he suffered under the previous power and he was a perfect candidate to express the suffering and anger of the South African people, nevertheless he didn’t use that power to punish or plan attacks on his former oppressors but was more interested in reconciliatory approach, negotiating with this same people he could have sent back to their country to work with him and today South Africa is one of the most developed countries in Africa and this achievement was because he refrain from using the power to oppress like his predecessors and that act gained him worldwide respect that he was decorated with a Nobel laureate for peace showing that people most respect the powerful refraining from exercising those power to retaliate.

Like Nelson Mandela, the cold war between The United States of America and Russia in the 90s which if it had happened could have taken so many lives and rendered so many lands useless, these countries had the power to perform devastating effects to each other with their nuclear arsenal and a lot of nations were afraid believing if the war was going to happen would be the end of the continents and lots of talk were done to change the mind of both nations, Fortunately the war didn’t happen and today these nations are much more respected, they could have used their power and shown the world how powerful they were but they knew it would earn people’s respect.

In conclusion, it is clear that refraining from exercising your power earn most respect in fact I can say exercising power always would get to a point the oppressed would revolt because they have had enough and respect is best derived by refraining from exercising your power.