All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is outside counsel really effective? some might argue that listening only to people working within a company is the best approach but others would believe getting someone or people who do not benefit from the current system or people who have not been clouded by the way the current system is should be a more effective way of moving the company to greater heights.

Those who believe that getting consultants to advise them or giving them other insights is a waste of time can be right to do so, as a matter of fact, they are the ones on the boat who have been facing the storms and whirlwind all this while and the boat has not capsized but people outside a situation always give better advise than people within the system because they look at matters affecting the company with keen interests that the people who work in the company might in a million years think of, for instance during the 2002 FIFA world cup Final in which Brazil won, the coach had to call other coaches from other countries who have beaten that squad they were about to face and seek new strategies they could use to win the match, which eventually worked out for them.

Another case is IBM who host an annual conference for its staff and invite various business leaders from all over the world to advise their staffs on how to maximise their potentials and this conference has been an integral part of the success story of this great company, this company is old and should have stopped working by now but the new ideas that keep coming from these consultants has helped IBM to be equipped to transend or sail through this fast pacind technological revolution, if this company has depended on just its employees alone, there would be a time, they would run out of ideas and the growth of the company would pause and if it continues it like that, other competititors with fresh ideas would overtake them.

In conclusion, seeking consultants to give advise or sharing their experience on how they were able to solve similar problems or telling them what to do in case they find themselves in one situation or the other is never a waste of time, moreover if listening to their own employees alone was enough, then getting outside counsels wouldn't have been neccessary and a saying nobody is an island of knowlege cut across all facets of life including companies.

ULtimately, IBM seeking for consultants yearly to improve their company and the Brazilian coach getting others with experience helped them achieve their goals, if it works then it should be implemented but does that mean listening to employees alone is not effective? No, it isn't, the only problem is everyone runs out of ideas at one point in time, so this outside counsels are always neededed for continuous growth.