People often tend to focus on the delivery of a message than the actual content

There are hundreds of ways by which you can deliver a message to someone: by a hand-written letter, an electronic mail, or by a simple SMS. But does it matter how you receive that message? Yes, it is extremely important.

For example, consider a wedding. In any culture, people place a lot of emphasis on the invitations. Everyone finds out about the wedding through word of mouth but they still wish to receive it officially from the bride and the groom. In India, people print wedding cards and go visit their relatives and close friend's houses personally to pass on the wedding invitations. While in America the bride and the groom write hand-written invites showing how much the receiver of the invite is important to be present on their wedding day. If one were to simply send an SMS saying that they are getting married, the receiver of the message might not simply feel close enough to the bride or the groom.

Alright, let me ask you a question: Would you be comfortable if you were to receive your break-up message in a simple text message? It would probably make the person more angry about receiving it through a text message than the break-up itself! Quite the opposite yet similarly, getting yes to a marriage proposal would, a lot of times depend on the atmosphere. It could be roses or a football stadium, alone or in front of the family, despite the difference in personal preferences, how the person asks their partner for their hand in marriage is extremely important.

However, there are also a few cases where the message itself is way more important than how it is passed on to you. My friend's grandfather was in a critical condition in the ICU after an accident, but her family didn't tell her worrying that she wouldn't take it well over the phone. So they waited until the weekend when she would go home from the hostel to tell her about her grandfather in person. But unfortunately, her grandfather passed away before the weekend and she couldn't spend his final moments by his side. She was heartbroken because of it and blamed her family for not telling her right away.

Therefore, I think as much as it is important how you convey some messages, sometimes the importance of the message could outweigh everything else. Thus depending on the situation occasionally the message would carry more influence but most of the time, in my opinion, the way the message is conveyed plays a huge role.