As people rely more and more on technology to solve problem, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advance of technology, especially since the First Industrial Revolution, certainly has obviated much human labour. Nowadays, fabrics are woven by machines, corps are harvested by reapers, and long-distance travels are facilitated by modern vehicles powered by fossil fuel. All these things had to be done with enormous human labour before the 19th century. Some say that machines has triumphed in ousting human beings, or, as Marx remarked, men are now appendages of machines. My opinion is that although the above view is possibly true to a rather large extent in case of physical labour, it is most positively false with regard to mental labour, thinking. Therefore, it is unreasonable to maintain that as people’s depedence on technology increases, their ability to think would deteriorate, whose implicit rationale is that men’s intelligence would degrade if they did not use the faculty so much, which was made possible by technology.

My first attack on this rationale is simply that it is not possible for machine to replace human in thinking. Surely, the advance of technology obviates some mental work, shopkeepers use calculators to work out the bills, scientists use sophisticated computer programs to facilitate their research, etc. However, there is a key feature of this kind of labour, its lack of genuine creativity, as the only thinking a machine can do, if we can use the word ‘thinking’ at all, is excuting some codes, which are 1-and-0 in essence and are written by human beings, to yield a definite set of results when a certain set of legit variables is input; it is not capable of thinking creatively, say like a novelist does when he/she is writing a novel out of his/her experiences. Therefore, while it is true that technology has freed us from some tedious and ‘mechanical’ mental work, technology has not made it unnecessary for us to think but left us with the more challenging mental labour, creative thinking. The enormous time that shopkeepers in the past had to spend on calculating the tally may now be significantly shorten with the use of calculator, and the saved time might be spent on thinking like how to provide more attentive services to customers; the daunting algebraic and arithmetic calculations that would take an ancient astronomist weeks to finish may now be done within seconds by a computer, and the saved time might be used by a modern astronomist to devise better models of celestial bodies, which requires tremendous creative thinking. So with the advance of technology, as machines taking on more and more the stultifying mental wrok and humans having larger proportions of time to do the creative work, which is more demanding, the result should be contrary to the issue: our ability to think should increase instead of decrease.

Some may argue that the advent of artificial intelligence (AI), which now seems looming, computers will supplant humans even in creative thinking. I should admit this is a possibility that might turn true. Nonetheless, I highly doubt computers may do all the creative work for humans. One day, I imagine, an AI could become a urban planner possibly better than all humans in solving the problem of traffic jam. I cannot conceive a day when an AI could ponder upon questions concering the existence of God, the meaning of human life, etc, as these questions, according to my belief at least, have no correct answers but are matters of faiths. It is simply inconceivable that a computer can solve a question that has no correct answer. Therefore, philosophical thinking should be the impregnable bastion that human brains may hold.