As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The issue claims that our ability to think for ourselves deteriorates with our inclination towards technology. However, there are innumerable advantages of technology in human life that simply cannot be overshadowed by one mere assumption.

By providing immediate and timely solutions to our smallest of concerns, technology not only saves time but also lifts those concerns of our minds for quite some time. Our lives today have become extremely fast paced that we hardly have any time to spare for unnecessary issues. Let us consider the example of a chef or a dentist who does not have a technological background and faces some trouble with his/her laptop. Now, we definitely wouldn’t expect them to resolve the problem just by mere thinking. Two options exist in this case – they can either consult a friend or an expert or simply look it up on the internet if the issue is a basic one. This not only saves time but also saves them from the embarrassment of approaching someone even for the minuscule of problems.

Another example would be the case of an avid reader who is passionate about the books written by a specific author. When an expected novel hasn’t come to his/her nearest bookstore yet, they can purchase one online if available. This saves them the time and effort of trying to find other bookstores nearby. Technology thus has only simplified our lives in ways more than what a few examples can describe.

However, in some cases, technology does seem to be a bane rather than a boon. Often when looking up something on the internet we do get carried away to multiple other websites we did not intend to look into. This consumes our time horrendously and might disturb our social lives as well. We also tend to rely on technology too much that sometimes we prefer to stay at home and chill rather than actually go out and socialize with people. In the name of being independent, we gradually only get ourselves into a cocoon of life. And this might deteriorate our ability to think for ourselves as well.

Overall, there are multiple ways to look at the pros and cons of the benefits that technology provides us. However when it comes to the simplifying things the way we like in today’s world, technology does prove to be a boon.