As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement above blames the inability of human beings to freely think on technology. Technology is needed and used almost everywhere on earth. While it is difficult to totally support the prompt, totally opposing it is equally as hard. This is a technical issue because technology has its ups and downs, its good and bad. Humans also have a say on how a particular technology affects them so the blame should not be sorely on technology. Technological impacts on human beings will be discussed below.

One exam of ways technology can affect humans negatively can be seen in the calculator. Nowadays, students rely heavily on calculators to solve any mathematical problems they have. Research has shown that students that start using calculators from a young age, find it difficult to calculate simple mathematical problems with their brains. Since calculators are found everywhere including cell phones, it is quite hard to reduce the use of calculators especially among the younger students.

On the other hand, technological advances as brought about the cure to many problems and sicknesses. Without technology, there will not have made a lot of head ways in medicine.Technology made people smarter in that sense because, long time sicknesses that were incurable before are beginning to get cured. Also, the security of countries are getting better due to technology. Criminals can be tracked and thus prevent or thoroughly reduce crime rates.

Another example in which technology can "make people dumber" is with the invention of the GPS. Human beings do not need to know their way around anymore because they could use their phones to get there. If an average human being was dropped on a very familiar road without a phone, the person is very likely to get lost. The GPS makes humans very dependent on does not allow people to use their brains as they would have if they did not have the GPS.

In conclusion, from the examples stated above, technology is very helpful to people and it only makes human beings "dumber" if they allow it to. To avoid this, human beings should take breaks from technology and try and think without the help of technology. Also, authorities should take steps to make sure human beings do not get reliant on technology like teachers should not allow calculators till a certain age. and laws like this should be enforced.