As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that the passage supports is that whether technology dependent problem solving will affect our

thought process. The generalization made in the statement is vague and incomplete in multiple aspect.

First of all, it needs to be mentioned how technology changed our lives. It has certainly made life easier

through solving problems. Long gone are the days when there were hardly any means of communication from one

part to another of the world. Latest inventions and medical devices have helped to live a longer and healthy

life. So, yes, technology is shaping our lives by solving major posing threats to our existence. Now the

statement suggests it will in someway make us unable to think for ourselves. Now the question arises why

such advancements in technology are made? Scientists at first look at the problems in our every day life

and then they start finding solution to that problem. So, what they are doing is that they are thinking of

the humankind and their problems provide a basis for new invention. If we take example of automobiles, they

are here to make our communication speed faster and it is doing any thinking for us.

Second of all, a technology such as a cell phone is used by majority of us. It has made us connected with the

world and now information is open for all. Even if there is a robot to help us with our chores, it is there to

make our life easier by helping to reduce our work load but does not help us taking decisions. Whether it is a

break up we are going through or a financial disaster, we, ourselves, need to find solution. Smartphone, personal

computers and those things help us storing information or may show us thousand solution to our problem in the

browser, but the main decision making is to be made by us. They work as an aid and we are the main actors of

life. So, to stress on 'surely deteriorate' is merely an exaggeration.

However, there are cases where people rely a larger degree on technology for doing petty things like a simple

calculation, or do not like to remember important contacts and when the storing medium is lost due to some

unfortunate reasons, they are now faced with retrieval of essential information. What if someone loses data of

the next big presentation and that presentation was made by his assistant and he is out of reach for the current

moment, that person will surely face taunting remarks on his big day. Here, the thinking is done by another human

and technology is no part of the process but a carrier of information.

So, the statement is not accurate and to make it believable it is required to have evidence in its support.

Technology has made life easier, quicker and made tackling problems more efficient but has not spared us the

thinking that we need to do to find out a sustainable solution to our problem.