As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim suggests that the ability for people to think for themselves will deteriorate as the reliance on technology increases. However, just as the pen not a writer but rather the a writer's tool, technologies such as the handheld calculator and the modern day computer are tools to augment human capabilities and efficiency rather than moderate thinking.

For example, we can consider the progress of humanity's mean of transportion. Imagine the time wasted spent walking or riding horseback for traveling far distances with the presence of planes and cars. Has humanity's ability to think been lessened by these inventions of the modern age? That is hardly the case. Not only do these vehicles allow for human beings to be efficient with their travel and thus free time for mental activities, these technologies also generate new problems of this day and age, such as global warming and environmental pollution. With these problems brought forth by technology calls forth new ideas to solve them.

Additionally, the introduction of the world wide web has allowed for people to collaborate to tackle far more challenging academic problems than one person could handle themselves. Scientific discoveries these days are often attributed to several authors are done so with the means for collaboration via technologies such as phone calls, email and video software. Journal articles that were only accessible to a few are now digitized to be shared amongst millions. Rather than reducing our ability to think, technology has allowed us to access the opinions and expertise of those from around the world to augment our own mental capabilities. To paraphrase the words of Sir Issac Newton, we stand atop the shoulders of giants.

Some may argue the advent of technologies such as calculators has reduced the capability to think mathematically, bemoaning that future generations will not know how to sort through simple additions and multiplications. In reality, this is far from the case. For example, while everyone of this day and age has access to a calculator, schoolteachers from all grade levels still often require their students to perform their calculations without the aid of these devices to ensure the development of logical thinking as well as prevent cheating.

Meanwhile, after polishing these abilities in school, professional mathematicians, engineers, and scientists use calculators to perform trivially-simple yet exhaustively-time-consuming calculations. It is to society's benefit that our best and brightest focus their resources on pursuing the mathematical quandries of our age rather than on performing the arduous labor of solving calculations by hand. As such, technology has not lessened the ability of human thinking at all; rather it is an impetus for human thinking to be unencumbered while delving further into more demanding academic pursuits.

Thus the statement that technology will bring forth the deterioration of human thinking is far from the truth. Technology has instead increased human efficiency while creating more mental challenges for humanity to tackle, while also increasing the means and scope for humanity to collaborate.