As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In the era of advanced technology, most of the people are of the opinion that excessive dependency on the technological devices for the purpose of finding a solution to one's difficulties will have detrimental effects on their mental abilities. However, there are some who believe that these applications have helped to enhance deep thinking by reducing the time spent by people for solving trivial issues. I strongly disagree with the author's viewpoint. My inclination towards the same will be explained in detail in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the primary reason why I am unconvinced with the author's opinion is the fact that gadgets do not have any knowledge of their own. It is the intelligence of the computer engineer who creates them which helps it to perform its functions. These devices just aid the programmers in formulating the algorithm to understand people's needs and problems faced by them. It is then up to the software developer to use this data to create an application which will help to improve the user experience. For instance, Matlab is a powerful computer program that helps the engineers stimulate output for different given inputs. But, it is up to the developer to formulate a mathematical model based on the data he has and the understanding of the subject that he has received. The second example is of the smart classes by which the students can learn various courses from the experts of their chosen field just by sitting at their home. The presence of internet makes this job easier but finally a student's success depends on how he comprehends the information that he receives.

My secondary reason to disagree with the author's standpoint is that the latest gadgets have instead helped people to spend more time thinking about important matters by relieving them from the trivial problems. For instance, the scientists can spend more time working on their research as the powerful supercomputers used by them do most of the mathematical calculations thus lessening their burden. The doctors are able to perform advanced diagnosis with the new machines and can detect the disease in an early stage which has increases the chances of recovery from it. These devices are also quite useful for the military purposes as they help in the firing of missiles with precision and accuracy.

On the other hand, there are also demerits of relying too much on these applications without applying one's own thought to it. For instance, calculators have made calculations so faster that people are losing their ability to perform even simple arithmetic operations. People these days do not prefer walking even to a short distance because of automobiles such as cars and bikes which has resulted in increase of health problems as obesity and cholesterol. Furthermore, the children these days spend more time watching television programs and playing violent video games which has a negative effect on their minds and makes them more insensitive and aggressive.With the advent of social media such as WhatsApp, Facebook, etc. the personal interaction between the people has almost diminished.

Thus to draw a conclusion, I would like to say that technology is nothing but the result of finding solutions for the problems by the humans. It is indeed true that technology has made our lives easier but reducing much of workload, but one must not rely completely on it. It is essential for the individuals to perform short mental exercises in order to retain the thinking abilities and have an overall development.