As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reason

It is said that lazy humans promote the development of technology, which is similar to today’s statement that human’s thinking degradation results from the stronger reliance on technology to solve problems. However, it is a paradox that new technology itself is at the same time created and developed by human thinking. Therefore, from my point of view, the statement is unconvincing without taking other circumstances into account.

On one hand, some simple and repetitive tasks are indeed completely replaced and solved by the increasingly developed technology under this society which was largely influence by globalization. For example, the delivery system in Amazon’s warehouse is in the charge of robots. There is no human intervention after the coding is designed and the administrator need not to worry about the task arrangement, package dispensation and warehouse inventory, which absolutely saves the cost of time and human.

One the other hand, we are relied more and more on technology because of the high efficacy and efficiency. Let’s go back to 1990‘s, data analysis or information collection, such as calculating the salary after tax for each employee, would cost an account one week. However, using the computer and latest software, it only took him or her several minutes. The development of technology help us to overcome the hurdles of calculation speed, limited human vigor and human caused errors.

Admittedly, human thinking deteriorates to some extent because we are encouraged to use instruments without knowing the theory of the instrument. It is true that the most basic requirement for us is to put instruments, theories and experience into practice. When the bulb was suddenly shut down, we may know that we can use a voltmeter to confirm and to fix it but we don’t further think about why the bulb was shut down. Is it because the total volt in house is out of the limit? Does the shutdown come from human caused error or the storm outside? Most of the time we don’t ask questions behind the issues which caused the degradation of our mind.

However, I still claim that technology also promotes human thinking because of the technology revolution. When the researchers deeply explored the old technology and found something new, they will design and create new technology; For instance, human society only had trains driven by coal several hundred years ago, then we had steam trains, and finally we have new trains driven by new energy. Our society also steps forward from the first industrial revolution to maybe the third industrial revolution in the near future. It is a cycle to push the society became more and more modernized. Therefore, how can I agree with the statement that human’s ability of thinking is deteriorating based on the facts listed above?

In conclusion, although the technology revolution help us to solve so many issues, instead of degradation, our thinking ability are promoted not only because of the update of old technology, but also the new technology created to solve new problems, such as pollution, waste disposal and so on.