To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

What is the characteristics of a society? No one can deny that in order to understand a society, we should study a society’s people, economy, technology and culture. But what is the most important is contingent on what you want to know. From my point of view, it is an effective way to understand a society based on the information collected from the major cities, but there is still other routes to do so.

To begin with, whether a researcher need to study major cities or not greatly depends on what he/she wants to know about a society because as a major city, it established on behalf of a society’s, at least, one important peculiarity. For example, Peking is no doubt the political and cultural center of China. Researchers can easily obtain information related to Chinese political and cultural history from the Forbidden City or the Great Wall, which represents that the Chinese are diligent and creative. A similar representative will be indicated is New York, which is the economical center of US so that we can learn economy status of US from Wall Street and the Times Square. In such cases, studying major cities helps the researchers to understand the most important characteristics of a society.

So does it mean that the major city can represent the whole scale of a society, which is a significant premise of the statement? I think this premise is overgeneralized and unconvincing for the following two reasons. On one hand, although economical difference between major and small cities in developed country is much smaller than that in developing country, one cannot repudiate a phenomena that the gap of wealth becomes larger and larger. It is possible that the major city is modern and rich while most of the other small cities are poor, just like the disparage economy status between Shanghai, a developed city in China, and Guizhou, a developing city in China. It is unreasonable obviously to say that China is a developed country only based on Shanghai’s status. On the other hand, globalization is much popular during the recent several decades. There is minor difference between some new established major cities which benefits from high technology. For example, Las Vegas and Macao are cities for gambling in US and China respectively. Both of them built with a lot of hotels and the city relied heavily on tourism and gambling. However, it is ridiculous to conclude that the whole US or China likes gambling.

Therefore, when studying the important characteristics of a society, ignoring the importance of small cities is ill-advisable. Opponents may refuse my suggestion that it is difficult to study small cities due to the difficulty of selection. They also argued that it is highly possible that the culture in small cities are damaged because small cities has no money and techniques to protect and maintain the cultural relics so that choosing small cities is useless. I partially agree with these opponents and claim that it is the exact reason why we should choose small cities. Only the small cities were chosen can they have more funding and resources to protect relics such as building museum. Maya is an important culture characteristics in Mexico but all relics are dispersed into small parts nationwide. If only the major city in Mexico was studied, you can’t understand how Maya influenced the Mexican’s history.

In conclusion, major cities indeed represent a society’s characteristics based on the huge population, variable funding to protect culture and modernization, it is unfair to ignore the importance of small cities which may be a better place to understand the history of a society.