As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans as a race continuously evolve and improve their way of life. Throughout history humans have created better environments for themselves and continuously worked to create new ways of life. The rate at which life is changing has reached its peak in the past few years. New inventions and ideas are being rolled out at a rapid pace. The claim tries to draw a relationship between human creativity and technological advancements. I do not agree with the claim that technological advancements have a negative impact on human creativity

We now live in a world where technology surrounds wherever we go. It maybe the way we travel to work through our cars or by using the bus or any other form of transport. It helps us complete our work efficiently. It helps us unwind at the end of a tiring day. It creates an easier life for us. Does this negatively impact our creativity?I think not. The ease that technology provides us helps us clear up our minds and think better about more stuff that can be achieved. Instead of worrying about the small details that can be taken care of by the machines, we now look at the big picture. We look beyond what is being done and try to explore new horizons. It is the comfort of knowing that we have technology to help us that lets us explore new ideas and wander around unchartered territories. The development of the touch screen is such an example. Phones till then were perfectly fine for calling and communicating. But it was not enough. Humans pushed their minds and came up with an idea that seemed incredulous back then, but is now an integral and banal part of our lives. Rather than inhibit us, technology liberates us to be free in our thoughts.

Another way that technology helps us is the inspiration it provides to our youth. To the children who grow up seeing the world at its peak, it is an inspiration to delve into their minds and think of ways they can make it better. All of things that have been accomplished in the past few decades have been a result of this inspiration. New ways of transport, eradication of diseases like small pox are a few examples. All of this has happened and there is margin for so much more. The youth has all the resources and the inspiration needed to get their minds running in the direction needed to create things that will change the world in a million different ways.

Technology also creates its own set of problems. The use of automobiles increases pollution. There is depletion of oil and advent of global warming. Thus while making life easier for us, it creates a new layer of complex problems that humans have to solve. We need to figure out ways to reduce carbon emissions and to reduce the different forms of pollution. New types of bacteria and virus are created that cause diseases that stagger the best of our doctors. Research is done on how to create immunity and fight against these new dangers. All of this pushes humans to be more creative and adapt to new situations.

Thus in all the cases I have mentioned, I have given examples of how technology has improved human life and helped foster their creativity. I disagree with the claim and hold a strong belief onto the fact that as long as humans and technology work together the world will continue to become a better place than it used to be.