As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Relying more on tech will not deteriorate thinking abilities but will help improving them. The technologies that solve problems were developed by humans which require criticial thinking and analytical abilities. If ability to think decreased continuously, we wouldn't have witnessed the advancements in technology we see today.

People relying on technology more and more to solve problems will not deteriorate their ability to think. Instead, it would give them the time required to solve harder problems. Simplest example being a scientific calculator which can solve lengthy equations in seconds. In the absence of this technology, people would have to spend hours together doing lengthy calculations which could have been used in solving problems requiring human intelligence instead.

Newer technologies and their pervasive use motivates people to strive harder to make technology better day by day. Scientists and engineers cannot achieve this without critical thinking and logical reasoning. Technology creates a sense of curiosity in young minds which leads them to ask more and more questions regarding the implementation behind the technologies they use in day to day life. With the advent of drones, photographing huge crowds at a concert has become effortless. Drone technology has attracted a large number of young students studying engineering who build toy drones during their free time or as mini projects that are showcased in school exhibitions. Students are not only motivated to learn what's behind the technology but also to experiment with it and find ways to improve it.

Technology has brought us to a point where any information we need is at our finger tips. Gone are those days when knowledge of latest technologies was esoteric. More and more people are becoming tech savvy these days and are discussing about the latest technological advancements and suggesting ways to improve them. Thanks to social networking people all over the world can pitch in their ideas. Nevertheless, this has led to new problems like storing and transmitting large amounts of data within a fraction of a second. As newer technologies emerge, they bring in newer problems as they solve one set of problems. This pushes people to explore new ways to overcome such problems which clearly indicates that people aren't losing their thinking abilities but using them effectively.

However, one could always find a few people who just use technology blindly without contributing to it's developement or at the least making an attempt to understand how it was built. Nevertheless, a vast majority of the population is benefitted by technology in terms of improvements in thinking abilities in subtle ways.

Progress in technology and widespread adoption is making our lives easier and allowing us to focus on harder problems. Without technology a large part of our time would be spent on mundane activities with very little time left to explore and make advancements which were once dubbed as impossible.