As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology plays a vital role in our modern society, nearly everyone in some way or another engages with technological items on a daily basis. With the advent of modern technology, there have been numerous innovations such as the computer, cellular phones, and even the more complex machine learning oriented aspects, such as artificial intelligence, among others. Over the years, there has been an over dependence on technology for conducting our everyday activities, both domestically and professionally, and we as humans are able to adapt and assimilate ourselves into these technological items, where we are in fact learning more and are able to access more from it in problem solving environments, rather than it having deleterious effects on our thinking capabilities.

Numerous fields and occupations utilize technology to combat various issues or to improve expected outcomes. For instance, with the development of Google Maps, individuals are able to navigate their way to uncharted territories from their very cell-phone, without having to rely on a large map which might be time-consuming in nature. The application, allows the user to not only navigate the best path in terms of length, but also tracks the path with the least traffic to save time. So if one is stuck in a particular junction or an unknown region, they can surely depend upon this application to aid them from getting lost. In such a manner, the user is able to solve his/her problem in not knowing where to go or how to go, given his/her current location, in finding the best possible path. In such situations one cannot possibly merely think for themselves and locate a way out, especially in an unknown area, and hence why the application becomes so important.

Furthermore, another instance is through space exploration, with greater advancements in telescopes and observatories, astronomers are able to analyse and explore the vastness of the universe, without having to rely on dated charts and theoretical observations. They can pinpoint and observe the various stars, analyse astronomical phenomenon with greater detail such as the explosion of a supernova, and even with higher resolution cameras coming into the fore, scientists can capture and study the shape and structure of various celestial objects. In such a manner, technology has not only improved the accuracy and provided evidence for various aspects in the universe, but has also facilitated this and provided scientists the ability to conduct more investigations and explorations, to help us better understand the universe.

Additionally, we may also consider the case of online education, where individuals are given the ability to learn and receive an education through a more affordable medium. Instead of having to spend an exorbitant amount of money in attending an on-campus facility, individuals can hope to achieve the same skill-sets and abilities required for the workforce, from an online platform, which not only places less debt on them in terms of financing and funding, but also provides them with the flexibility to engage in other hobbies, since classes are conducted as per the individual’s availability. This also makes it easier for individuals who are already working, to study part-time from an online platform and achieve a degree in the process.

In such events, we can see that technology has played a vital role in the growth and development of its users, but we must not ignore the downsides of technology in the process. By making access to information easily available, and by making our lives easier through cars and dishwashers, individuals are becoming lazier in the process, which can have negative effects on their health. Furthermore, an over-dependence on technology to function, can allow individuals to become addicted, to say social media platforms like Facebook or to Video Games, which not only wastes time but also hampers their ability to think due to the opportunity cost of time. However, in conclusion, given these negative aspects of technology, individuals who are able to curb and limit themselves with greater self-discipline and willpower can see the benefits of technology in enhancing and improving their thinking capabilities.