As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The definition of the term "technology" has been changing ever since it was first discerned. Looking back at the history we can easily scale all the definitions on a scale that starts from "need" and ends at "greed". Early humans needed to pave a path that leads towards technology to make their mundane life easier and to improve their chances of survival. It is this start that in no time, changed into a trend. Technology and development go hand-in-hand, as the population started to grow the changing requirements meant, developing something new to suffice the requirement. As people started exploring, as families they were scattered across the globe and to travel so far without an aid seemed unimaginably impossible then, hence came the invention of the wheel. From this basic part, technology evolved from a cart to automobiles. People never stopped and felt satisfied with the invention of a cart and they definitely saw scope to be able to develop something better, bigger and faster, this led them to "thinking" and got their dream of flying to reality, an extraordinary invention by the Wright brothers.

Ironically, we live in a society where people who develop the technology are considered an inspiration, on the other hand, we criticize the ones making use of it. If we could go back in time and change how the world worked back then and halt the technology from progressing, would we have this safe haven around us? Imagine the days before Thomas Edison, literally the dark phase, Imagine doing the daily chares in darkness, the thought in itself is horrifying. Things became much simpler and brighter after he invented the bulb for the purpose of spreading light in the city.

Technology is ubiquitous, it has permeated all over the globe. The problem lies not in technology, but in attributing a wrong meaning to the term technology. In today's world, the only gadget that we associate to, as a part of technology are cellphones and laptops acts as an agent of the virus, termed as social media. The current generation doesn't know how to limit their use on these gadgets, the reliance is so demanding that they cannot do without using them even for a day. Looking at the phone screen all day long, makes the body feel lethargic and kills the energy and drive to do anything beyond scrolling. Excessive talking over the phone also leads to similar problems. Scientists have proven that this type of usage can indirectly also damage the brain and kill ones drive to be creative and innovative and hence turn them indolent.

Technology is rampant, it has a dark side attached to it, but we must not disregard the attributes that count to its brighter side. Technology has made the task of a man easier. Shifting from handlooms to industries have provided employment, aeroplanes have made it easier to fly over continents within a few days, Smart homes have made daily life more interesting and secure. Paradoxically, as the reliance on the technology is increasing, so is the urge to develop innovation is, to do so, one needs to "think", positively and creatively. I believe that technology plays a great role in motivating the crowd into developing something, that can turn their perspective into reality.