As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The last couple of decades have seen a tremendous rise in technological advances around the world. Some might argue that the increase in technology has deterred the ability of humans to think for themselves. However, this notion is very superficial and further examination of the technology that surrounds us today provides compelling evidence to contradict this idea.

First and foremost, most of the technology that humans use today required some form of problem solving or critical thinking from a human brain. Technology, unfortunately, cannot be created from thin air; there is a distinct problem or set of problems that each new technology is intended to solve. For example, let’s examine the invention of the computer, perhaps the greatest invention of the 20th century. Computers are complex machines; each touch of the keyboard and click of a mouse requires human thought to program. Without humans, these small actions could not have been automated as such.

Furthermore, technology allows us to avoid mundane problems and focus our attention on more complex and pressing issues. We don’t have to worry about a message being sent to a loved one in time for their birthday; we have cell phones and email for that. Instead, we can worry about more complex issues that may require more than just a cell phone or computer to fix, such as curing cancer. The advances in technology today allow us to focus on these more pressing issues and avoid dwelling on other smaller issues.

Finally, every technological advance that we have seen and will see requires human thinking. Each new edition of Windows requires a human to compile issues that have arisen from a previous edition and program a fix. The same can be said about cell phones among other inventions. It would be nearly impossible to advance technology without having someone coming up with a problem to fix in the generation and another human going behind the scenes of technology and programming a fix to said issue.

All in all, technology has not hindered our ability to think for ourselves; on the contrary, technology has simplified life for humans to the extent that we are able to stop thinking about simple issues that plagued us several generations ago and can put our focus on advancing technology to fix more pressing issues. It’s not just humans that make technology; it’s those same technologies that shape the way we think and act today.