As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

We live in an era, where technology is intertwined in every sphere of life and makes our day-to-day work a lot easier than before. We use technology to solve tiny problems as well as gigantic ones. The prompt suggests that our ability to think will surely get dilapidated as we keep relying on technology more and more. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement and I argue that though the technology is solving our problems and making our life easier, the byproducts of the technological improvements create newer problems that require the highest level of analytical thinking by humans.

To begin, the astonishing advancement made in the technology sector in the last decade of the twentieth century and the beginning of the twenty-first century is evident in our regular routine - from waking up in the morning till sleeping at night, we are utilizing the blessings of technology. To a certain extent, we are having to think less and in doing so we are becoming relatively lazier. For example, if it were not for the technical support like "Google Map", we would have to figure out the addresses rigorously and would have to put considerable effort into visiting new areas by asking people or finding addresses in traditional maps and thinking about the best possible route. In that sense, our task has become way much easier as we are one "search" away from finding the best route to our destination. Another example can be the use of computational tools for calculations; e.g., calculator and computer. Prior to the invention of these tools, humans used to perform calculations in rigorous ways utilizing human thinking power and it was time-consuming and arduous in nature. Taking this into account, one might claim that humans have stopped thinking and have become completely dependent on technological support.

However, technology may have made our life easier and to a certain extent made us lazier, but it never made us thoughtless. Each technological improvement is associated with momentous efforts put in by scientists and engineers. With the invention of new technology comes newer problems, which require a thorough understanding of the problems and analysis in a diligent manner for the solution. For example, the invention of automatic vehicles has opened a new era in the transportation sector. It took years of relentless work by thousands of scientists and engineers to make it practical. One may assume that this will make humans less thoughtful as there is no need for drivers anymore. However, the advent of technology itself comes with greater responsibility. Tons of problems related to control, precision, and communication will arise regularly, and to make this sector sustainable, engineers will have to push their thinking capability to the limit. Another example can be the use of software like “Microsoft Office”, which has made our official work easier compared to the old-fashioned type-writers. Though the use of the software made the written documents pleasing to the eyes and much easier to write and modify, a user still has to be prudent regarding the formatting, choice of words, and use of colors to make the documents persuasive. In that sense, technology is making us think more than ever.

Of course, some will still argue that the higher dependency on technology will make us vacuous. But, technology offers newer problems, which require analytical thinking and persuasive problem-solving. Technology may make us lazier but understanding newer problems and figuring out their solutions make us cognitively sound.