As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to
think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human
experience over the past century. Surely there has been no time in history where the lived
lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals
how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to work in an
automobile that runs on an internal combustion engine. During the workday, chances are
high that the employee will interact with a computer that processes information on silicon
bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving home, family members will be reached
through wireless networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth. Each of these common
occurences would have been inconceivable at the turn of the 19th century.
The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the
ability for humans to think for themselves. The assumption is that an increased
reliance on technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve
previous quandaries. Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without
a car, computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical worker would need to find
alternate methods of transport, information processing, and communication.
Technology short circuits this thinking by making the problems obsolete.
However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity that
marks the human species. The prior examples reveal that technology allows for convenience.
The car, computer, and phone all release additional time for people to live more efficiently. This
efficiency does not preclude the need for humans to think for themselves. In fact, technology
frees humanity to not only tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues that did not
exist without technology. For example, the proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need
for fuel conservation on a global scale. With increasing energy demands from emerging
markets, global warming becomes a concern inconceivable to the horse-and-buggy
generation. Likewise dependence on oil has created nation-states that are not dependent on
taxation, allowing ruling parties to oppress minority groups such as women. Solutions to these
complex problems require the unfettered imaginations of maverick scientists and politicians In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human
imagination. Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet has
allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal
for medical information, permits patients to self research symptoms for a more
informed doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that were previously
closed off to the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions,
inspiration can arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the
architects of the UN Millenium Development Goals, based his ideas on emergency
care triage techniques. The unlikely marriage of economics and medicine has healed
tense, hyperinflation environments from South America to Eastern Europe.
This last example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides
hope to the future of humanity. By increasing our reliance on technology, impossible
goals can now be achieved. Consider how the late 20th century witnessed the
complete elimination of smallpox. This disease had ravaged the human race since
prehistorical days, and yet with the technology of vaccines, free thinking humans
dared to imagine a world free of smallpox. Using technology, battle plans were drawn
out, and smallpox was systematically targeted and eradicated.
Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the
implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be
no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no need
to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful posture to
the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human imagination.