As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of

humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain

your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your

position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not

hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An intuitive concept that muscle needs the training to keep in shape. However, the brain's mechanism of development is much different than muscles. The issue could be approached through the scientific method of brain scanning and comparing the cognitive abilities of two groups of people in which one interacts with technology and another that does not. Also, we can assume a holistic assessment of our daily interactions and the current status of our society, that in fact, the effect of technology on brain's cognitive abilities could not be anything but positive if any.

To articulate the issue as an anecdote, we will notice that an obsolete form of technology, as the Telegraph, has led humanity to the right path of telecommunications, at the time we could have been self-satisfied and stopped evolving at this point, we strived for more and now we are communicating with interstellar devices like "Voyager" from our solar system.

From another perspective, the argument is that university freshmen, struggle with basic arithmetic, unlike old generations, and that might seem disappointing. However, that very freshmen has devoted their abilities to programming, deep learning, and machine learning.

In the old days, many of the greatest people of all time, Newton, Davinci, and others, have coined the concept of a polymath. A person who is able to excel in twelve different disciplines in the case of Davinci. On the other hand, nowadays, knowledge level, and technology is very specific and deep into the learning process. While high school students may be poorly skilled when they come to geography, they are probably familiar with cloud computing and Blockchain.

It emphasizes what seems to be deteriorating, actually, shifting our path to a more devoted mindset to complex issues.