As people reply more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Over the period of time, technology has become an essential component for the survival of our mankind. From mundane tasks to mind boggling tasks technology is required everywhere. Technology not only helps in our day to day lives but it is also highly essential for economic growth and for the welfare of nations. With the help of technology, one can have any time access to any information required. However, like they say that there is always a drawback to something too nice. One of the major drawbacks of technology is how it affects our cognitive abilities.

Technology is the source for all information that is supposed to make our lives easier. For example, when an assignment is given to a college student, the first thing the student will do is search for the solutions of the problem statements on Google or any other search engine. While this makes his/her life easier and helps them save time, it has a negative impact too. Students must adopt the habit of thinking over problem statements instead of looking for the answers online. This will not only help us develop our brain but also gives us a reality check about our abilities without any external help. Thinking over a problem statement will also help the student during examinations where internet access will be not be permitted to get the answers.

Since we can get all the information and resources online, the habit of reading is not seen nowadays in most people. In earlier times when there was no internet, our ancestors gathered information by reading books or newspapers that helped enlighten them. Books have always been the biggest source of knowledge there can ever be. Reading books make us smarter which help us develop our thinking abilities. Reading can also help us improve our vocabulary. The information that we get on the internet might not always be accurate. There can be room for mistakes on the internet whereas there are relatively lesser mistakes in books and hence the information we get from books can be more reliable.

While using technology affects our thinking capabilities we cannot undermine the advantages of technology. Several concepts that might seem inscrutable to an individual might be explained in a much easier and efficient manner on the internet. With the help of many educational videos that exist on the internet a student can watch them and learn from anywhere at any time. With the help of technology, one can keep records of their bank records and transactions from time to time. It has helped the nations across the world to enhance their economic structure as well as other factors to a great extent.

Thus we can say that technology has made our lives easier in ways we cannot even imagine at times. However as technology advances we have lost the ability to solve problems on our own. Humans have given up on thinking and adopted the method of searching for solutions online. Hence it is required to first think over a problem and if we still can’t come with a solution then we can use technology for help.