Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Paleans boats have been found. Thus it follows that so called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author here states that the woven baskets found only in the immediate vicinity of the village Palea has been recently discovered in the village Lithos, hence the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. Initially we find the argument to be a valid one, but as we look deeper into the matter, we come across many flaws that question the credibility of the argument.

Firstly, the assumption that the woven baskets were made only by the Palean people has not been backed up with any logical evidence. It is possible that these baskets were made by people from another village and the people from Palea bought it and started using it in their village. Just because it was found in Palea first, it doesn’t mean that it didn’t exist elsewhere already. It is also possible that it was initially made by the people from another village and later the people from that village migrated to Palea and got their baskets along with them. Thus the assumption that the woven baskets were made the by the villagers in Palea has not been proved with any solid evidence and hence it might not be true.

Secondly, it is stated that the village Lithos is across the Brim River from Palea which is very deep and broad and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat and no Palean boats were found. Here in this argument, they have ignored the possibility of people travelling from Lithos to Palea using the boats from Lithos. It is possible that the people from Lithos had travelled to Palean and found the woven baskets there. The villagers of Lithos might have bought it from Palea and took it with them to Lithos. It is also possible that the baskets were made by the people from Lithos and they travelled to Palea by boat and brought their baskets along with them.

Furthermore, it has been assumed that there is only one mode of transport to get from Palea to Lithos. The argument states about crossing the river using a boat but it hasn’t considered the probability of there existing another mode of transport to reach Lithos. It is quite possible that one can go from Palea to Lithos by road or by any other mode of transport. Hence there is a good enough probability that the villagers from Palea travelled to Lithos using a mode of transport other than boat. They might have carried their woven baskets with them to Lithos and that’s how the baskets were discovered in Lithos.

Thus due to the overstated flaws, the argument seems to be ill-founded. However, the argument would have been strengthened if the author would have backed up the assumptions with solid evidence. Thus in such a scenario, the authenticity of the argument based on the data mentioned, falls flat.