People s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole

A person alone can give an idea about what surroundings they grow up in or live in. The prompt above states that, a persons' attitude is more of a reflection of his immediate surroundings than the whole society, to which I agree. Regardless of differences in the personalities of two people their base values and perceptions towards things will be somewhat same if they have been in each others immediate surroundings and have faced similar things. And that is why i support the above argument for mainly these two reasons.

Firstly, when it comes to decision making what mainly drives a person towards a certain decision is their attitude towards things and that comes from their personalities which in turn are actually affected and to be precise are build by the experiences they have been through in their lives or how they grew up or what atmosphere they lived in and these things are very personal and unique to everyone they cannot be common to a whole society. For example, when a person is at cross road of his life and has to make a very important decision which will have a long life impact on them, they are most likely to choose a path which has things that they have lacked in their lives until now, let's say a kid grew up in a very wealthy family but was emotionally abandoned by his parents and when it comes to a certain decision to choose either wealth or love and support that kid will most likely give wealth up and that decision can be completely opposite for someone else, so this is not determined by what society we live in, it's determined by our immediate surroundings, people we are close with. We all might belong to same society but this does not mean that we all will develop same attitudes towards things.

Secondly, there are people whose beliefs are actually completely opposite to their society's are and some might like to refer them as mavericks or rebels. Now, if they belong a particular society why their thought process and beliefs are different from other people? Because societies can build a groundwork and influence people in certain manner but they cannot change what a person wants to believe in or how they want to be. Their are so many people who were born and raised in a catholic society but eventually they lose their faith in it, why is that? Because they might have experienced a life out of that shell and found that to be more believable or parallel to what their true personalities are. How about when people they theory of 'earth is round and not flat was introduced', almost everybody opposed that because as a society it was believed that earth is flat but that scientist who decided to go beyond what was believed in the society, postulated this.

Some might say that, it is mainly society who builds the foundation and person's attitude can be very well determined from that, yes, you can have the information about what background they come from but you can never predict their beliefs and thoughts by knowing that what society they belong to. Because it's a person's lifestyle, family, friends, careers that can determine their attitudes and that's unique to everyone.