The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the complain

The argument states that over the past year, their late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news and during this time period, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during their late night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with them. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The above stated arguments is presenting a very much distorted view of the situation and also fails to mentions several key factors on the basis of which it can be rationally evaluated. Hence, argument is weak because of the below mentioned reasons.

First, arguments does not gives any information about how many complaints were received regarding coverage of local news and weather or even what percentage of viewers those complaints make. And what exactly those concerns were. If author had given this information, argument could have been very sound.

Second, argument readily assumes that the canceled advertising agreements were because of their coverage of local news and weather reports compared to national news. Since they have mentioned that these contracts were made for late night programs the reason for their cancellation can be lack of viewers, as most people tend to sleep early because of their jobs or schools or even daily routines. If the argument had given some report or feedback information which includes reasons for cancellation of contracts of lack of service provided to them form owners of local businesses, then the argument could have been a lot more convincing.

Third, and most important thing, arguments says that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level they can not only avoid losing further advertising revenues but also attract more viewers. This conclusion lacks so much of essential information such as, how can they conclude that by doing so people would spend more time on viewing their late night program, did they conduct some kind of survey with the help of which they can say that people need more local news and weather reports over national news. If they had provided above mentioned feedback forms from local business owners in which those owners state that if they restore the time devoted to local news and weather news they would not cancel their contracts, this conclusions could have been convincing. Also how much time was devoted on local news and weather reports earlier and what difference does it makes compared to time ratio of current national news to local and weather news, because if there isn't much time difference then implementing this could be useless.

If the argument had provided facts regarding what percentage of viewers complained and exactly what were their concerns, Reason for cancellation of contracts, former and current time ratio of national news to local and weather news, or conducted any kind of survey which concludes that majority of people wants local news or is it just the timing of show and content then the argument would have been much better.