People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People’s attitudes are a topic of study that psychologists have been researching for quite some time now. The statement’s assertion is that attitude is determined more by the immediate surroundings and comparatively less by society. I agree with this statement as the attitude of a person is constantly being molded starting from their adolescence to the very present point of their life and a major chunk of these interactions has to include their primary circle being family, friends, and relatives, and the secondary circle consisting of society.

Firstly, attitude is something that is considered to be a set of fundamental rules that a person strongly believes in and hence bases all his actions on those. These perceptions are built majorly by the influence of their experiences starting from early childhood. Research findings suggest that our attitudes are predominantly shaped and built during the formative stages of our life namely school life, the influence of teachers, early childhood friends, and values imparted by our parents. This is clearly because of the number of hours spent by people in schools and colleges over nearly two decades. That is a lot of time for any person to start building an attitude influenced by his surroundings.

Consequently, it is during this stage that a kid who has experienced a lot of hard times will grow immune to similar situations when he is an adult. In contrast, a kid who was shielded from problems in his upbringing will tend to develop an attitude of victim mentality when he gets introduced to adversities. It is the same situation that has shaped two different attitudes. Meanwhile, society has a small role in such circumstances when dealing with the personal problems of individuals. Even if there is a role of society it would only be in a very generalized sense - related to career choices.

To conclude, immediate situations compel individuals to act upon them which in turn causes them to develop certain conceptions of reality and leads them toward shaping their attitudes.