In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The premise that significant contributions in any field can only be made through

the influence from past achievements in that field holds true in the modern

world. Modern appliances, advanced medicine, and improved fuel efficiency are

founded on earlier models. The next big thing is simply a version of the last big

thing. It may be thinner, smaller, faster, or more intuitive, but, fundamentally, it

is the same thing. The ubiquitous television sets in people’s homes today are

probably hanging on the wall and have plasma or LCD screens. These bigger,

brighter versions essentially perform the same function as the older, bulkier

vacuum tube models; they bring moving pictures into our homes. The Band-Aids

found in every medicine chest come in a variety of sizes, colors, with or without

an antibacterial cream embedded, and even in liquid form. These superior

bandages also perform the same function as their predecessors; they cover cuts

and scrapes. In actuality, everything new is not very original. They are

adaptations.

One must turn to the ancient world to recognize that the greatest contributions in

any field of endeavor have come through discovery rather than invention or

advancement. Early man discovered fire and realized he could use it to cook his

food, warm his cave, and keep predators at bay. Eventually, he learned how to

create it, preserve it, and carry it with him as he migrated to better hunting

grounds or more temperate climates. Modern man has witnessed the harnessing

of fire to create steam that powered ships and locomotives. It still heats our

homes and cooks our food, but it also takes us into outer space.

At some point ancient man realized that round objects move more effectively

over the ground than do square or rectangular objects, that the power of water

could help man to accomplish tasks more easily, and that the leaves, roots, and

bark of plants and trees provided relief from pain and other maladies. Thus, we

have the wheel, grist mills on local streams, and aspirin in tablet form. Were it

not for Franklin’s flying a kite during a thunder storm or Fleming’s discovery of

penicillin, we would live in the dark and die from bacterial infections. When

bold seafarers from Scandinavia and Western Europe sailed east and failed to

fall off the edge of the earth, they discovered the fishing banks off the coast of

Newfoundland and treasures in Mexico and opened the doors to modern-day

travel.

In the final analysis, it is appropriate to assert that no one can contribute

significantly in any field of endeavor without first being influenced by past

achievements in that field. While those contributions generally improve the

quality of our lives, it is likely that the next important discovery will have a

profound effect.