People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

People should know how to behave differently depending on specific circumstances. In this perspective, I do agree with the statement that people should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Firstly, when they deal with the life of other people, they should undertake risky action cautiously. Secondly, if the probable consequence of risky action is immense and irrevocable, they have to do so, as well.

To begin with, when people deal with the life of other people, they should consider the consequences of their risky action and then, decide to either do that or not. As the life of people is the most important value among anything else, people must be careful when dealing with people’s lives, and even more careful when dealing with lives of others. Therefore, if their risky action can threaten the lives of either themselves or others, they must consider probable consequences of behavior thoroughly and decide to behave only when it is not that hazardous. For example, when doctors try to test a new treatment to patients, in South Korea, they should submit innumerable reports which analyze and explain the probable results of the test and demonstrate that it would not threaten patients’ lives. The South Korea government, based on the reasoning that people’s lives can be placed in the great danger if doctors can do risky treatment carelessly, have kept this law thoroughly in order to prevent doctors from doing risky treatment.

In addition, when the probable consequence of risky action is immense and irrevocable, people should undertake risky action only after considering its consequences carefully. As the probable its consequence is immense and irrevocable, people have to be cautious not to fail because it can cause serious damage to them. Therefore, they have to consider the consequences carefully and then take a risky action. For example, when a state plan to intrude and engage a war with neighboring countries, the political leader must consider every consequence of war carefully. This is because they have to compare each power, calculate the odds of winning and wage a war only when likely to win. If he wages a war without such consideration, they will suffer irreparable damage of losing.

Of course, critics can argue that people might miss appropriate timing to act while analyzing the consequences of an action before starting. There is proper timing for every action, but it is easy to miss if people spend too much time into analyzing the results. However, doing the wrong action is much more dangerous than doing nothing. While doing nothing makes no changes, doing wrong can inflame the problems to the extent which no one can solve the problem. Therefore, even if they might miss proper timing, doing risky action after full consideration of its consequences is better than doing so without consideration.

In sum, I do argue that people should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Especially, when they deal with other people’s lives or the probable consequence is immense and irrevocable, they must consider its results and then decide to act or not. Even if they might lose the proper timing to action, doing wrong is always worse than doing nothing.