Essay topics: GRE Argument:

The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the mayor of Brindleburg recommends the city council to build a golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg in order to generate additional tax revenue. His recommendation is based on several assumptions, and some questions should be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.

To begin with, the writer should answer the question of whether there are other factors affecting the increase in visitor in the town of Seaside Vista. In the memo, he assumes that a 20% increase in visitors in the town of Seaside Vista results from building a new municipal golf course and resort hotel in the town. However, the assumption can be wrong. It is possible that the increase in the number of visitors is caused by completely different reasons, such as the city council’s action to lower the price of tour spot or holding various festivals. If so, building a new golf course and resort hotel is not responsible for an increase in visitors, and the argument will be weakened. On the contrary, there are no other factors which influence on visitors, the argument will be strengthened.

In addition, the question of whether an increase in the amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista is attributed to the opening of a new golf course and resort hotel should be answered by the writer. He presumes that it is and that there are no other factors affecting the amount of tax. However, there may be various other factors which can make a change in the amount of tax money. For instance, more people might have currently moved in Seaside Vista or their income might have increased due to the temporally economic boom, so they might have paid more tax than previous. Therefore, if there are other factors such as mentioned above affecting the tax, the argument will lose its validity. In contrast, if there are no factors which can affect the amount of tax, except for building a golf course and resort hotel, the argument will be reinforced.

Lastly, the writer should provide the answer to the question of whether Bridenburg has similar characteristics to Seaside Vista. He supposes that both have similar characteristics, so argues that the success of the opening of a golf course and resort hotel will be successful in Brindleburg as well. However, the presumption might not be true. While Seaside Vista might have an extensive flatland and beautiful natural scenery suitable for building a golf course and resort hotel, Brindleburg may not be good for building a golf course and resort hotel due to its rugged terrain and serious environmental pollution. In such a case, Brindleburg should not build a golf course and resort hotel, and the argument will be less persuasive. On the other hand, both towns have similar characteristics, the argument will be more persuasive.

In sum, while the mayor of Brindleburg recommends the city council to build a golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg in order to generate additional tax revenue based on several assumptions, the recommendation might be unsound due to the unsubstantiated assumptions. Therefore, he should answer the questions in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.