People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Instructions

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people believe that risky actions can be taken only after considering the consequences of the risks we are going to take. I partially agree to the statement provided. Here we should remember that, there are always two consequences of a risky action, a positive and negative implication. And a person decides weather to take the risk or not or to keep a backup based on the answer he gets for the question, weather the positive results are going to overweight the implications or viceversa. It all depends on the kind of risk we are going to take, and the impact we are going to face from it.

Continuing the above discussion, we can take a situation where the positive returns are going to be less and negative are high. Then it is obvious that we consider the negative implication in this situation and we most of the time keep a back-up or don’t even take that risk. For example, we can imagine a to start a business which gives less returns if we succeseed, but if we fail in that business we need to pay huge amount of money .In this kind of situations it is always worth to consider the negative impact we are going to face before taking risk. This situation can also be repeated when we are going to invthe est in stock market where we are not sure which stock is going to increase or decrease its price and value that day. In this senario also, it is worthy to keep in mind the negative impacts. SO, that we wont invest all the money we have on single stock where the results are unpredictable. We divide our money in to multiple parts and invest each bit in various stocks to limit the negative consequence we are going to face.So in this kind of situations where the results of our risks are unpridictable or the negative impact is more than the positive out come then it is worthy to consideer the consequence and keep a backup

Quite contrary to the above situation, there are few cases where risk is high and the returns are also high. So, when we are clear about both highs and lows and we are determined to take stand of taking risk. This kind of actions can be done when the individual is determined , well focussed, and planned. Here, individual wont or cant take any backups though he can foresee the negative consequence if he fails. The best examples are very well presented in history.one such is ,students like Billgats dropping out of the college to work on the computers an start his own company which is a huge revolution in today’s world. In here, if he might have failed, he might have to go through the situations what a typical college drop out would have to face that is: without proper carrier and job.However he took the risk and succeeded without looking back. So sometimes we take the stand even though we knoe the negative consequence, without considering it. So in this situations the determination , predictive nature, our self confidence is all that matters.

So considering the above reasons and examples, depending on the type of risk, positive and negative implications the consideration of consequences can be done.