People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The decisions one makes in life are not surrounded by the same circumstances. Sometimes decisions need to be based on emotions and other times on logic. However, one thing we cannot do is make decisions based on emotions and justify them with logic and vice versa.

Most dilemmas that we face or situations that we are in on a day to day basis first need to be looked at logically. That's how we are able to analyze an issue. If we let emotions get the best of us we run the risk of not understanding how to correctly respond to an issue. We tend to look at the issue from only one angle i.e. the one that justifies our emotions and this leads to tunnel vision. Once a decision is made based on emotions then the logic used to justify it might be contrived due to the emotional attachment that one might have with the decision. In a lot of cases, the logical justification for an emotional decision ends up pointing out the flaws in the decision itself.

There are however certain situations in which the decision has to be based on emotions. In those cases, the justifications for those decisions have to be rooted in emotion as well. For example, someone on a healthy diet who is trying to lose weight might want to have pizza for dinner because they feel like it. If they do, then they cannot use logic to justify it because pizza is not an inherently healthy food.

Therefore, to summarise, if a decision is based on logic then it must have a logical justification. And if its based on emotion, then it must have an emotional justification.